Books by Deborah Swift

Powered by Your Friends at BookGorilla

Twitter: @swiftstory

"I was brought up in an antique shop surrounded by old and interesting objects so historical fiction was a natural choice for me. I remember my father checking items of furniture for woodworm, and how gently he used to test to see if the yellowed varnish could be removed from old oil-paintings. His attitude gave me a respect for craftsmanship and I hope I have brought the same love and attention to detail to my novels. My favourite places are Levens Hall in Cumbria and Fountains Abbey in Yorkshire."

Please click the Follow button to see books by Deborah Swift
more frequently in your BookGorilla daily alerts!
The Gilded Lily: A Novel
by Deborah Swift
Beauty is skin deep; blood runs deeperOne sister is pretty, the other plain.Shy Sadie Appleby is the plain one, and has never left her small village. But one night she is rudely awoken by her older and bolder sister, Ella, who has robbed her employer and is on the run. Together they head for a new life in London, hoping to lose...
Today's Bargain Price: $11.99
Categories: All Historical Fiction
Spirit of the Highway (Highway Trilogy Book 2)
by Deborah Swift
‘Anyone regardless of age would love this story…Great story and great storytelling’ - Book Nerd BlogEngland 1651.England has been engaged in a bitter Civil War for nearly ten years. Ralph Chaplin, a farmer’s son, has fallen for beautiful copper-haired Kate. There is only one problem – he is a Roundhead soldier and she is a...
Today's Bargain Price: $2.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Romance; All Teen Lit
A Divided Inheritance : Epic historical fiction
by Deborah Swift
'a classy, compelling adventure story and a true journey of discovery.' -- Lancashire Evening Post A family divided by fortune, a country divided by faithLondon 1609Elspet Leviston has always managed her father's lace business and expects to continue in his footsteps. So when her hot-headed cousin Zachary Deane appears from nowhere...
Today's Bargain Price: $2.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Historical Fiction; All Women's Fiction
Past Encounters: Lives are changed forever in this wartime historical saga...
by Deborah Swift
BookViral Readers Award Finalist for WW2 fiction! For fans of Pam Jenoff, Anthony Doerr, Sebastian Faulks and Kate Atkinson. Some memories fade, some refuse to let you go…1945, Carnforth, EnglandYoung sweethearts Rhoda and Peter were torn apart by the outbreak of the Second World War. Though engaged to be married, their plans were...
Today's Bargain Price: $3.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Historical Fiction; All Romance; All Women's Fiction
The Occupation: Loyalties are pushed to the limits in this powerful wartime saga
by Deborah Swift
A page-turning historical saga that will pull at your heartstrings! For fans of Freda Lightfoot, Pam Jenoff, Sebastian Faulks and Kate Atkinson.One woman’s secret war against the Nazis. One man’s war against himself…1940, JerseyWhen Nazi forces occupy Jersey in the English Channel Islands, Céline Huber, who is married to a German...
Today's Bargain Price: $2.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Historical Fiction; All Romance; All Women's Fiction
The Occupation: Loyalties are pushed to the limits in this powerful wartime saga
by Deborah Swift
A page-turning historical saga that will pull at your heartstrings! For fans of Freda Lightfoot, Pam Jenoff, Sebastian Faulks and Kate Atkinson.One woman’s secret war against the Nazis. One man’s war against himself…1940, JerseyWhen Nazi forces occupy Jersey in the English Channel Islands, Céline Huber, who is married to a German...
Today's Bargain Price: $2.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Historical Fiction; All Romance; All Women's Fiction
The Occupation: Loyalties are pushed to the limits in this powerful wartime saga
by Deborah Swift
A page-turning historical saga that will pull at your heartstrings! For fans of Freda Lightfoot, Pam Jenoff, Sebastian Faulks and Kate Atkinson.One woman’s secret war against the Nazis. One man’s war against himself…1940, JerseyWhen Nazi forces occupy Jersey in the English Channel Islands, Céline Huber, who is married to a German...
Today's Bargain Price: $2.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Historical Fiction; All Romance; All Women's Fiction
Last Train Home: A Christmas Wartime Short Story
by Deborah Swift
Level crossing-keeper Maisie Harris can only look forward to a lonely Christmas, stuck in her signal box, as the trains take other people home to their families and friends. But this Christmas she is in for a surprise... Ideal for your coffee break or commute, this is a heart-warming romantic short story (15 minutes, 20 pages) set in...
Today's Bargain Price: $0.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Historical Fiction
Lady of the Highway (Highway Trilogy Book 3)
by Deborah Swift
'anyone, regardless of age, would love this. . . great story and great storytelling' - Book Nerd Blog England 1651 The English Civil War is over, but the wounds of the conflict are still raw. Young Lady Katherine Fanshawe is determined to save her inheritance from the grasping hands of the authorities, and build a brighter future...
Today's Bargain Price: $3.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Romance; All Teen Lit
The Lady's Slipper: A sweeping historical novel of orchids and obsession
by Deborah Swift
'Compelling and intriguing, this is a well-told story full of wonderful prose and surprising events' --RT BookReviewsShortlisted for the Impress Prize England 1660When artist Alice Ibbetson discovers a rare orchid, the lady's-slipper, growing in a nearby wood, she is captivated by its beauty. It is the last surviving specimen and she...
Today's Bargain Price: $2.99
Or FREE with
Categories: Action and Adventure; All Historical Fiction; All Sex & Erotica; All Women's Fiction
Shadow on the Highway (Highway Trilogy Book 1)
by Deborah Swift
Hertfordshire, England, 1651. England has been riven by civil war for nearly ten years, and the King's Cavaliers are getting ready to make their last stand against Cromwell's Roundheads. Abigail Chaplin, a young deaf girl, has lost her father to the Roundhead cause. But with her family now in reduced circumstances, she is forced to...
Today's Bargain Price: $0.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Romance; All Teen Lit
The Gilded Lily: A sweeping historical saga of sisters, courage and love
by Deborah Swift
There is no greater compliment than 'Give me more!' A delight. -- Susanna GregoryWinter, 1661. In her short life Sadie Appleby has never left rural Westmorland. But one night she is rudely awoken by her older and bolder sister, Ella. She has robbed her employer and is on the run.Together the girls flee their home and head for London...
Today's Bargain Price: $2.99
Or FREE with
Categories: All Historical Fiction; All Women's Fiction
Join our thousands of happy subscribers. It's free!
Get Deep Discounts on
Premium Bestsellers,
Plus Free Books for
Your Kindle!
Enter Your Email Address:
BookGorilla sends you a single daily email alert with the best deals
on books that match your reading preferences, including bestsellers
and freebies! Learn More

All prices are for US customers of the Amazon.com Kindle store and were verified by BookGorilla at 9 am EDT, but prices may change without notice so please verify that the book is still free or bargain priced before confirming your order.