Books by Chris Orcutt

Powered by Your Friends at BookGorilla

Twitter: @chrisorcutt

CHRIS ORCUTT has written professionally for over 20 years as a fiction writer, journalist, scriptwriter, playwright, technical writer and speechwriter. He has also taught high school U.S. history and college writing. At Baruch College, City University of New York, Chris received the Distinguished Teaching Award, and as a newspaper reporter he received a New York Press Association award.

Chris is the author of the critically acclaimed Dakota Stevens Mystery Series. The first novel in the series, A REAL PIECE OF WORK, achieved a #1 top-rated ranking in Literary Fiction for Kindle, and #4 in Mystery. IndieReader writes of the novel, "Action, lust, danger, style and witty repartee, Orcutt's A Real Piece of Work is a work of art." The novel received similarly strong critical acclaim from other reviewers, as did the sequel, THE RICH ARE DIFFERENT. The third installment in the series, A TRUTH STRANGER THAN FICTION, debuts on January 1, 2015.

Although Chris is very proud to have created the Dakota Stevens novels, he considers himself first and foremost a general practitioner in fiction writing, and has written a great deal of non-genre fiction. He has had well over two dozen short stories published in literary journals, and his short fiction has won a few modest awards, most notably 55 Fiction's World's Shortest Stories. Chris's short story collection, THE MAN, THE MYTH, THE LEGEND, was selected by IndieReader as one of the Best Books of 2013.

In April 2014, ONE HUNDRED MILES FROM MANHATTAN, a modern pastoral novel in the tradition of Jane Austen and Thomas Hardy, was published. The novel tells the story of Wellington, a fictional wealthy community in Upstate New York, where the village and the surrounding hills conceal tales of love, lust, tragedy and small wars. The novel is ten chapters in length, and each chapter is from a different character's point of view. These characters include a trophy wife, a medical doctor, a single mother, a contrac

Please click the Follow button to see books by Chris Orcutt
more frequently in your BookGorilla daily alerts!
A Real Piece of Work (The Dakota Stevens Mysteries)
by Chris Orcutt
"Action, lust, danger, style and witty repartee, Orcutt's A Real Piece of Work is a work of art."* Critically acclaimed author Chris Orcutt introduces Dakota Stevens, a modern PI with the wit and grit of Spenser and the sleuthing skills of Sherlock Holmes.In a thrill-ride of a mystery that leads from Manhattan to the Catskills to...
Today's Bargain Price: $5.99
Categories: Action and Adventure; All Contemporary Fiction & Literature; All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers; All Romance
One Hundred Miles from Manhattan
by Chris Orcutt
From Chris Orcutt, critically acclaimed author of the Dakota Stevens Mystery Series, comes a rich and descriptive modern novel about a rarefied Upstate New York town where "...readers can eavesdrop on the lives of the uber-rich and those who cater to them."* An IndieReader Best Book of 2014. Welcome to Wellington, New York, where...
Today's Bargain Price: $5.99
Categories: All Contemporary Fiction & Literature; All Romance; All Women's Fiction
A Study in Crimson (The Dakota Stevens Mysteries Book 5)
by Chris Orcutt
In this thrilling prequel to the series, readers will encounter "a younger, devil-may-care Dakota at his charming, witty and resourceful best..."DAKOTA BEGINS...Dakota Stevens has just thrown off the shackles of the FBI and launched his own private detective agency. But it's not going well. His so-called cases are limited to tawdry...
Today's Bargain Price: $5.99
Categories: Action and Adventure; All Contemporary Fiction & Literature; All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers; All Romance; All Women's Fiction
Perpetuating Trouble
by Chris Orcutt
"An absolutely fascinating and entertaining read from cover to cover..."*   In this humorous memoir, critically acclaimed novelist Chris Orcutt debunks the myths surrounding the writing life. "I avoided writers very carefully because they can perpetuate trouble as no one else can," wrote F. Scott Fitzgerald. In  Perpetuating...
Today's Bargain Price: $5.99
Categories: All Biographies & Memoirs; All Humor; Writing and Publishing
The Rich Are Different (The Dakota Stevens Mysteries Book 2)
by Chris Orcutt
"The Rich Are Different brings back the smooth Dakota Stevens with his...wisecracking and witty shtick.... Stevens narrates with insightful and humorous observations that bring the nostalgia of the detective noir style."*Dakota returns with his sexy and brilliant associate Svetlana Krüsh to follow a trail of clues from the sophisticated...
Today's Bargain Price: $5.99
Categories: Action and Adventure; All Contemporary Fiction & Literature; All Historical Fiction; All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers; All Romance
The Man, The Myth, The Legend
by Chris Orcutt
"Chris Orcutt serves up a deliciously cheeky and ironic collection of short stories that offer glimpses into the perilous lives of ten men from vastly different walks of life and eras."* An IndieReader Best Book of 2013.From the emotionally poignant to the outrageously humorous, this varied collection of stories dramatizes the lives of a...
Today's Bargain Price: $5.99
Categories: Action and Adventure; All Contemporary Fiction & Literature; All Romance
A Truth Stranger Than Fiction (The Dakota Stevens Mysteries Book 3)
by Chris Orcutt
"A Truth Stranger Than Fiction is a clean, fast-paced mystery thriller, packed with unexpected shifts.... Our hero and narrator, Dakota Stevens, is a witty and charming PI detective.... This story is highly entertaining and fun in its action and humor, but beholden to a deeper focus."*In an adrenaline-fueled case that races to the woods...
Today's Bargain Price: $5.99
Categories: Action and Adventure; All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers; All Romance
The Perfect Triple Threat (The Dakota Stevens Mysteries Book 4)
by Chris Orcutt
Before they took down global conspiracies... See tough, wisecracking New York PI Dakota Stevens and his brilliant associate Svetlana Krüsh in three of their early cases.In this exciting mystery trilogy, Manhattan PIs Dakota Stevens and Svetlana Krüsh solve cases in the Green Mountains of Vermont; Dutchess County, New York; and the...
Today's Bargain Price: $5.99
Categories: Action and Adventure; All Mystery, Crime & Thrillers; All Romance; All Women's Fiction
Join our thousands of happy subscribers. It's free!
Get Deep Discounts on
Premium Bestsellers,
Plus Free Books for
Your Kindle!
Enter Your Email Address:
BookGorilla sends you a single daily email alert with the best deals
on books that match your reading preferences, including bestsellers
and freebies! Learn More

All prices are for US customers of the Amazon.com Kindle store and were verified by BookGorilla at 9 am EDT, but prices may change without notice so please verify that the book is still free or bargain priced before confirming your order.